First off an apology to all those people who have chosen to add this blog to thier list of blog’s to follow. Also sorry to those that have read and liked my reviews, titbits of TV and movie news. I like to keep up with what’s going on, what’s new and what’s of interest to people like me that like SF/F and horror.

Also sorry to those of you that have read my ramblings on the uphill slog that is being an aspiring author, and those that have read the flash and short stories I’ve posted. If you’re wondering why I’m apologising, well look at the gaps between my posting, the lack of up to date reviews. For the past few months I’ve let this blog stagnate and neglected those people who have taken the time to read what I say.

There have been a few changes in my life over the past month or so, mainly the breakdown of my marriage and inevitable split leading me to now renting a room in a shared house, and having to go through the mindfield that is changing my contact details (there’s always someone who will be missed).

Because of the split the writing side of my life has suffered. Although I’m still reading (I have to have some escape), I find it hard to find anything to say apart from short reviews on Goodreads. I have several reviews prepped and started. Blue Blazes and Under Empyrean Skies by Chuck Wendig, the Broken Empire trilogy by Mark Lawrence, The Long War by Terry Pratchett and Stephen Baxter. I will probably eventually get round to posting these reviews, but unsure when.

I do post reviews over at Fantasy Faction, something that I have managed to keep up and keep at.

Alongside the downslide in reviewing is the stalling of my novel writing. The main WiP I’ve been working on since early in the year – Life In The Fastlane – has stopped. Parts 1 & 2 are done, one has been beta read and I’ve done a second draft that came in nearly at twice the length of the first draft. Part two is out with beta readers and I made a start on part three. But then it stalled, barely a chapter in and I hit a wall. I’ve not added to it for over a month and a bit, I open the file up but nothing happens, I just stare at the words wondering where to start.

I’ve tried to break the blockage, I’ve started in on a novella based around an idea I’ve had on the go for a couple of years now. It has helped, I have managed to make progress on it and it is loosening up the old grey matter. But unfortunately my love of writing is lacking of late and I fear it will scupper my 2013 plan of having a fully drafted novel ready to send out to agents by my 50th birthday at the beginning of December.

I’ve rambled, what I’m trying to convey is I’m still here, battered and bruised and in need of some inspirational sign that life is not totally shit and there is something worth all the effort. But I will carry on, never been a quitter.

 

