Hi everyone this is the opening post in what I intend to be an ongoing work-in-progress blog detailing my trials, tribulations, successes and failures in becoming a published writer. First a little about me.

My name is Phil Norris, christened Philip but only my Mother calls me that. I’m 48 on my next birthday. I have a 20 year old daughter and am married with two stepsons both in their 20s. I live in sunny Somerset in the Southwest of England.

I’ve been “playing” at writing for  a lot of years and decided 2 years ago to actually work on something constructive. To date I’ve had a couple of short stories published on the GeekplanetOnline website, I’ve had 2 flash shorts accepted for Pill Hill Presses Daily Flash 2012 anthology due out later this year.

I’m currently working on 3 projects. A short story intended for another Pill Hill Press anthology about dark heroes. I’m also working on the script for a pilot/1st episode for a TV series. Lastly I’m re-reading and re-imaging my first novel called Chooser Of The Slain which was entered into the recent Pratchett Prize competition but didn’t get anywhere.

I hope to make regular updates on this blog with news of progress and pitfalls. There will also be occasional reviews of books, TV and movies plus general ramblings from a troubled mind.

